Home > Tech > iOS 4 Gripes

iOS 4 Gripes

It’s been three weeks since iOS 4 was released by Apple, and my experience with the operating system on my iPod touch 2G, frankly, isn’t fantastic. I’ll leave it to you to find out what other users are facing, but I will just touch on the two major problems that I have when using iOS 4 on the iPod touch.

Firstly, there were issues during upgrading. The upgrade process is supposed to be pretty much automatic. Apple even publishes a 4-step instructions on how to upgrade to iOS 4. iTunes is supposed to automatically back up the contents of the iPod touch, and then restore it once iOS 4 has been installed.

iOS4 Updating Instructions

What actually happened was that the back up process could never be completed automatically, always ending up with some sort of a failure and an offer to continue the upgrade without making a back up. What was even stranger was that manual back up worked fine. So I had to create a manual back up, and then restore the backup manually after the upgrade.

Another glitch that I noticed during the upgrade process was with the Nike+ app. Nike+ is an app that can interface with certain Nike running shoes and keep a log of one’s runs. (I bought the iPod touch with the intention of making running more interesting, so that I would run more regularly. As it turned out, I don’t run that much after all, but that’s a topic for another discussion.)

What happened during the upgrade was that all my running logs were erased from Nike+. What was even stranger is that while I saw nothing in my running history, the total running distance, which is also logged in the app, was doubled from what it was. Say, before the upgrade, I had 53 km of running distance. After the upgrade, the app showed that I had run for 106 km.

Thinking that I could recover the running history by restoring from a back up, I performed the restoration a second time. What only happened was that the application now showed a total of 159 km of running distance–triple the original figure. Very strange!

In the end I gave up and reset the entire running history altogether. And it turns out I’m not the only one experiencing this.

Nike+

The second gripe that I have is with the battery performance. I consider myself a light user of the iPod touch. I don’t use it to listen to music on the go as I don’t travel to work anymore. I only use the iPod touch to do some late night reading or surfing on my bed, where it is inconvenient to use my laptop.

Before the upgrade, I could do this for a couple of days between recharge. But ever since I upgraded to iOS 4, this frequency has increased to about one recharge every 2 days.

I pinpointed this to a new feature on iOS 4 which leaves the wi-fi on when the device is asleep. That means that before the upgrade, after reading/surfing, I would fall asleep, the iPod touch will go to sleep mode, and the wi-fi will turn off by itself. Now with the persistent wi-fi, even when the device goes to sleep mode, the wi-fi remains on, using up the battery as it does. Imagine my frustration when the following night and I wanted to do some reading, I found out that the device’s battery was flat.

iOS4 Wi-Fi

Apple advertises this as “iPod touch can stay connected to Wi-Fi when asleep so you can receive incoming VoIP calls and notifications from compatible third-party apps,” which is all good when you’re a user of apps that need such a feature. For my kind of usage, the fact that I have to manually switch off wi-fi before going to sleep, and switch it back on the next time I want to use it is really annoying. There is also no switch that allows me to remove the persistent wi-fi feature so that the iPod touch will behave like it was previously. Again, apparently a lot of other people are having the same problem too.

So, those are the two main gripes that I have about the upgrade to iOS 4. What are yours?

Categories: Tech
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

