Home > Life, Personal > Of Lifelong Friendships

Of Lifelong Friendships

I was reading the latest post on Niniane Wang’s blog about her losing her best friend. I couldn’t help but feel sad for her, as she had thought that they would be lifelong friends.

Now, I don’t know Niniane personally. Neither am I saying that I fully understand the situation that they’re facing. In fact, I only came across her blog while searching for easter eggs in Google services.

Niniane Kicks Ass

Niniane is a former engineer in Google. In her website, she wrote that she had a little bet in the year 2000 with his Caltech friend, Dan. The bet was trivial, it was about interpreting a drawing in a cafe. Whoever won that bet would have the other’s name hidden in whatever products they were working on next. She won and Dan’s next project happened to be Google Maps, and for a time her name directed searchers to Google’s headquarters–if you made the search before 2009, as the easter egg has already been removed since then.

To cut a long story short, it appears that the two have fallen out. They had been friends for half of her lifetime, and what they had thought to be a lifelong friendship is, after all, not permanent, and she felt sad and angry about it.

Which makes me think about the notion of lifelong friendships. Is there really such thing as a lifelong friendship? Can two different people meet, realise that they have something in common (or maybe not so much in common, and they simply enjoy each other’s company), decide to become good friends until their dying day, and really live up to it?

I’ve lost count of the number of good friends that I’ve made and lost throughout my life. Usually the cause is as simple as a change of school or location and we simply drift apart. I can accept this, as people always change. Even I change.

But some are due to other reasons such as a misunderstanding or an argument. Yet others have no reasons that are explicable. These usually bug me, because for one, I’m a peaceful person who hates conflicts, and for another, I’m also a person who tries to understand everything in his life, and having something which I can’t explain just annoys my mind to no end.

Anyway, I guess what we all should really do is to treasure all the friends we have, no matter how close we are or how much we trust that person or how we always say that we will be friends till our dying day.

The next thing we know, they could just be gone.

Categories: Life, Personal Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

