Home > Photography > KenRockwell.com

KenRockwell.com

Whilst I was searching for a nice DSLR to get, I came across a website by a guy named Ken Rockwell. What is amazing is his reviews on Nikon cameras and lenses. He even has old Nikon equipments that he reviews.

I would take this as just another review site, but there are other goodies that he provides in the website. The website is almost like an encyclopaedia of cameras and lenses!

He has, for example, explanations on the DX format, something which is new for digital SLRs. But the most useful pages I’ve seen must have been the Nikon system compatibility page and the lens compatibility chart, which is almost like a short history lesson on Nikon lenses. Now I know that if I were to get the D5000 I was eyeing for, I won’t be able to autofocus using my current AF lenses. I love his example of pairing a 1969 Nikon F with current 17-35mm AF-S lens.

A 1969 Nikon F with current 17-35mm AF-S lens

A 1969 Nikon F with current 17-35mm AF-S lens, from KenRockwell.com

On another note, after looking through a lot of websites, I’m really thinking of getting the Nikon D90 soon. It seems to be getting good reviews, and the fact that I can use my current lenses (I have a 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6 G AF and a 70-300mm f/4-5.6 G AF, both of which apparently have been rated as two of the best cheapest Nikon lenses) is a bonus, although the combination will probably look Frankenstein-ish as the camera body is black and my current lenses are silver.

Categories: Photography Tags: , , ,
  1. December 14, 2009 at 2:57 am

    haha don’t forget to upload the frankenstein pics once u have it!

    i think the D90 comes with 18-105 f3.5-5.6 CMIIW, so you don’t really have to bring along your 28-80 to battlefield, no?

  2. December 14, 2009 at 2:59 am

    You’re right in that it comes with the 18-105, so the 28-80 will most likely stick with my F55 as a backup (or sold as a second-hand camera :P). But I want to keep the 70-300.๐Ÿ˜›

  3. et
    December 14, 2009 at 4:46 am

    actually, why not a 2nd hand D80? aside from video, D90 doesn’t offer much additional specs above D80. and w the extra $$ you can get an 18-200 instead =D

  4. December 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

    nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo… Canonnnnnnnnnnnnnnn…!!!

  5. December 14, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    et: I kinda have a bad impression on second-hand cameras, especially something that I may potentially spend a bomb on if anything goes wrong…:-/ I’m still thinking about it though…

    Daphne: Pfft!๐Ÿ˜›

  1. December 14, 2009 at 12:57 am

Leave a Reply

