Home > Aviation > Flight Experience

Flight Experience

Some of you might have known that I am pretty much obsessed with aviation. One of the dreams that I have in the future is to be able to pilot my own airplane.

I am taking one step closer to that dream, and I have booked a 90-minute flight at Flight Experience for this Sunday, 28 December.

Flight Experience brings the commercial airliner pilot experience to normal people like you and me, by providing a fixed-base flight simulator that looks and feels like a Boeing 737-800 cockpit. Supposedly, it is so detailed that even airliners use the facility for training purposes. In Singapore, Flight Experience is located at Singapore Flyer, which is currently having a breakdown.

Here’s how it looks like inside:

Inside Flight Experience

Inside Flight Experience 2

Some shots of the overhead panel:

Overhead Panel

Overhead Panel 2

And the Flight Management Computer:

FMC

And here are two sample videos of the flights:

I am allowed to bring 2 guests for the flight. One is taken by my brother, while the other is still free.

I would like to invite one of my friends for the flight as a guest.

I intend to make the 90-minute flight a good learning experience. According to the planned itinerary, we will be covering basic flying skills similar to what is taught on a PPL (private pilot license) course, i.e. effects of controls, steep turns, stalls, circuit flying, etc.

As a guest, you won’t be allowed to touch any of the controls. However, you are welcome to listen in and learn a thing or two about the flight simulator experience. Probably, you will also get to understand my obsession with flying. Who knows, you might just be interested in flying yourself!

You don’t have to pay a single cent, the flight cost is on me.

To participate, drop me a message (email, MSN, SMS, comment, Plurk, or in fact any other ways you can reach me) and let me know why you should be chosen. Don’t worry, they don’t even have to be related to flying or aviation.😉 I will contact you by end of day of 4 pm, 27 December if you’re chosen. I know it’s very tight, but I’ve just booked the flight today.

The terms and conditions are simple: you just have to be able to come to Singapore Flyer on time by 9.30 am on 28 December, and bring a photo ID along for identification.

Be aware that the flight is 90-minute long, and some people might experience motion sickness. Also, this is my first time using such a simulator, so don’t expect to get perfect landings on the first few tries.😀

  1. December 27, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Hey, we’re allowed to take pictures, right?

  2. December 27, 2008 at 3:34 am

    nxva: I’m not sure, but I’ve seen some videos taken in the simulator, so I suppose camera is fine. In any case, I’ve also ordered a DVD of the flight.😉

  3. January 23, 2009 at 1:28 am

    Wow, this looks amazing!

  4. June 13, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Hi..just found your blog about Flight Experience..how was your experience? We now have a facebook page if you’d like to become a fan and post your photos there…keep in touch and Happy Landings!

  5. June 13, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Joanna: Thanks for dropping by! It was really great! In fact I planned to blog about my experience, but I’ve procrastinated too much, oops. I’ll definitely be a fan of Flight Experience on Facebook.🙂

  6. June 13, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks! Feel free to post any photos/videos..just set up our facebook page as so many of our fliers do so well…it’d be a shame not share the experience!

  7. June 24, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Hi..can I post a link to this review on our website please?
    It’s great!
    thanks
    Joanna

  8. June 24, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Hi Joanna, sure please do! I’ll let you know too if I had the time to write on my actual experience, I think that would be more interesting than this post.🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

