Home > Life > In Pursuit of a Suit

In Pursuit of a Suit

Some of you might have known that I will be flying home this end of the year to attend my cousin’s wedding ceremony reception. Among the first things that hit me was that since this is the wedding of my own extended family, I will need to wear a suit.

The next thing that hit me was the headache of finding a nice suit to wear.

A couple of days ago, my flatmate had kindly brought me on a tour of the so-called 4 shopping corners of Orchard Road/Scotts Road (namely Wisma Atria, Tangs, Marks & Spencers at Wheelock Place, and ISETAN at Shaw Towers). I didn’t buy anything from any of those places for two reasons: the price of the suit at those places are rather expensive, and I wanted to have a look at other more economical (i.e. cheaper) places for comparison.

It was only after I met up with Daphne, Sylv, and Darran over dinner at Suntec City’s Sizzler’s, that I brought up the topic of the suit with them.

Less than two hours after the dinner, I walked out of G2000 with a garment bag containing the suit, and a plastic bag containing the shirt, and matching pants. Also in the plastic bag is an extra T-shirt I bought in order to top up the spending to get two free $10 vouchers.

From Random

The gloomy weather and my lousy Photoshop skills didn’t do justice to the quality of the suit.

Total damage? $210.55.

Suit Blazer: $219.00 50% discount: $109.50
Suit Pants: $79.00 30% discount: $55.30
Formal Shirt: $59.00 30% discount: $41.30
T-Shirt: $33.00 Promotional price: $19.00
Garment bag: $8.00

Sub-total: $233.10
10% DBS card discount (for all items except garment bag): ($22.51)
Rounding: ($0.04)
Total: $210.55

Now I know how it feels like when girls go shopping.

Although it feels good to buy something that makes me look good, I also dread 3 February, when my credit card bill is due.

Anyway, many thanks to Daphne, Sylv, and Darran for accompanying and helping me choose a nice suit.๐Ÿ™‚

Categories: Life Tags: , , ,
  1. Amanda
    December 24, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    But well, you look good in the suit!

  2. J.J. Ji
    December 24, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    u look handsome in that suit!

  3. December 24, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    yeay! See? People like the suit!
    Although I still think your pants need alteration๐Ÿ˜›

  4. December 24, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Nicely done my friend๐Ÿ™‚

  5. December 24, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    That’s actually a very good price that you paid for the suit! I don’t know if that’s a typical price for a suit in Singapore or not, though. I forgot to tell you before that it may pay to spend a little bit extra for a first suit. Consider it as an investment.

    sylv made a good observation. Do you need to make alterations on your suit? It’s unusual if you don’t!

    And BTW, it’s a wedding reception, not a wedding ceremony. She’s married already, lah! :p

  6. December 24, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Where’s the flower????????

  7. December 25, 2008 at 12:07 am

    shopping with girls rocks, doesnt it?๐Ÿ˜›

  8. December 26, 2008 at 3:59 am

    Amanda, J.J. Ji, jerricklim: Haha thanks!

    sylv: Yup, I’ll probably alter the pants in Indonesia. It’s too rushed to do it in Singapore.

    nxva: I guess like I mentioned in the post, I got the… “economical” version of a suit. It looks good and I like it, actually.๐Ÿ˜› I do need to make an alteration to my pants, but the suit is just fine.๐Ÿ˜›

    Oh and thanks for the correction.

    Darran: LOL it’s called a pocket square lah.๐Ÿ˜›

    Daphne Maia: Sure… So long as the guy doesn’t have to pay for what the girls buy. And it benefits girls also because they have a portable luggage stand, right?๐Ÿ˜›

  1. December 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

